vO5 tea therapy “vanilla mint” shampoo

For the past 3 months, I’ve ditched the sisterlocks starter shampoo. I was running low and didn’t want to run out while vacationing in Mexico; so, I picked up a $1.50 (or less) bottle of  Alberto VO5 Tea Therapy “Vanilla Mint” Clarifying Shampoo.

From what I’ve read on the LockIt Up yahoo group, clarifying shampoos seems to be the best for new locs (when the starter shampoo is not available). VO5 is inexpensive and smells great, so I thought I would give it a try.

I diluted the shampoo with water (about 1 to 3 or 4) but it has quite a lather. I was a little freaked out at first becuase I became used to the no lather SL starter shampoo. But, I’ve gotten over that and appreciate the deeper clean feeling (that may have a lot to do with the fact that my scalp isn’t as dry as it was it the SL starter shampoo).

My initial reaction: My hair felt softer– not a loose soft, but a nice, bouncy soft.

My concerns: My hair initially looked like it was starting to adopt the cylindrical look but as of late, I can’t seem to tame the frizzies. And, my hair sheds a little bit in the shower… a few, little beady b’s. I didn’t think anything of it until I came across a blog post that reminded me that locked hair really shouldn’t shed– as shed hair is typically caught up in the lock.

Overall: Alberto VO5 Tea Therapy “Vanilla Mint” Clarifying Shampoo smelled so good and seemed to do the trick with getting my hair and scalp clean…  but I’ll have to reserve this shampoo for when my locks are a bit more mature.

In the meantime, I’m not interested in going back to the Sisterlock Starter Shampoo. Instead, I purchased a bottle of Dread Head Soap. Just placed the order so it’s on it’s way. More to come after my first wash with it.

POST A COMMENT

