Hey Bud…

I’ve answered my question: No more braiding and banding.

I’m freeing myself from the worries about whether my hair is or isn’t locking as fast as I would like. I’m accepting the different stages my hair will go through and will concentrate more on styling and keeping my hair looking fresh during wake-up-n-go’s.

I mean, that’s why I got sisterlocks in the first place: manageability, versatility, and freedom!

I decided: Gosh darn it… if my consultant says my hair is locked and gives me the green light to wash freely… And, if my husband, who has been such a good sport about closely inspecting the differences between the locks in the middle of my haid versus the edges, says my hair is locked, then so be it.

I’ve been freaking out and discouraged this whole time about my locks… not realizing or willing to comprehend (I can be so dunce) that my hair is doing exactly what it’s supposed to do at this time. I’m in the budding phase. I’m not sure how long this will last but it’s time for me to hold tight and enjoy the ride.

What this means for me is:

  •  No more braiding and banding.
  • I’m getting a black rinse at my next retightening (I missed the jet black color so badly!)
  • I’m branching out from the sisterlocks shampoo. (Note: The SL starter shampoo is not bad by any means necessary. Instead of paying a ton of money for the shampoo + shipping/handling, I’d rather find something that works at a nearby store. Suave Clarifying Shampoo seems to get good feedback on the Sisterlocks Yahoo Group. Plus, for my last wash, I experimented with using Head & Shoulders (concentrated on my scalp) and didn’t experience any negative side effects.)

Oh, and I plan to ask for a grooming at my next retightening…. see if my consultant can trim away some of those frizzies.

image

(This is a shot of two locks — one from the side (left) which is tighter and feels more “locked” when touched, the other (right) that is bigger, the look blends in with the curly q’s from a distance but looks very similar to the other (left) lock when close up, but is squishier to the touch (budding phase). All locks could use some grooming along the sides!)