in need of new regimen, styling tips, and self re-tightening tips

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas! I sure did. I received a wonderful word from my pastor about how Christmas is a rescue story– one of hope and faith. Not  about gift giving and a baby Jesus.

I digress.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my sisterlocks recently. Particularly, I have been thinking about how I need a new regimen to care for my hair considering how much I work out, my goal to extend the time between retightenings, and the fact that I am now taking hair/nail growth pills.

Exercising: From working out, I get a lot of build up on my scalp. Washing every two weeks isn’t cutting it. I’m definitely increasing my wash schedule to once a week. But I’m concerned that may not cut it either. Today, I am experimenting with rinsing my hair. I did my best to cornrow my hair last night.

Cornrow Attempt-Dec26.2011

Today, I’m working from home and did a quick  rinse focusing on my scalp (using the spray on the kitchen sink) and let my hair airdry (without taking down the braids) . Any suggestions for maintaining sisterlocks with a rigorous exercise routine? I’ve been concerned about all the sweat or frequent washings slowing down the maturing/locking process.

Re-tightenings and Hair Pills: I am more and more curious about learning to self re-tightening– Not my entire head; just the front to keep up a neat appearance. But I am NOT interested in paying $250 to learn. Over the next few weeks, I’ll be doing some internet sleuthing to learn the best way to approach this.

Styling: Finally, I would also like to experiment with styling more.  But, my ends are just so darn fuzzy and soft, that I’m concerned any curls would look like a dry half curled ‘fro. I’ve said it before, and at risk of sounding like a broken record, I’ll say it again… once my fuzzy ends mature into locs, I’m confident I’ll have more styling options. (My wedding day hair looked gorgeous, but I’m concerned about manipulating my hair to that extent too frequently.) Today, for about an hour, I considered purchasing Nappy-N-Happy’s Sea Salt Spray Loc Accelerator… but I couldn’t bring myself to click the purchase button. Anyone sisterlock’d sistas use that product with success? Any other advice for styling despite the fuzzy ends? 

POST A COMMENT

