sharing is caring

I’m curious and I hope you don’t mind sharing some information with me.

Fellow sisterlocked-sistas:

  • Do you wash your hair before your sisterlock re-tightening or does your loctician washes your hair for you as a standard part of your appointment?
  • Whether your hair is washed before or during your appointment, are your sisterlocks re-tightened on wet/damp or dry hair? Preference?
  • How much do you pay for your re-tightenings and where do you live? (since cost can vary by location) And, how long does it typically take?

Here are my responses:

  • I wash my hair before re-tightenings (the night before or morning of). Even if I’m scheduled to get a color, my loctician expects my hair to be clean before the appointment.
  • I prefer that my hair is dry for re-tightenings. Once or twice, I did arrive with slightly damp hair (when I washed that morning), which is totally acceptable. But I like the results better when my hair is dry before re-tis. (The only other exception is when I get a black rinse and my hair is still wet. However, the one time I got a rinse before a re-ti, I also had a style done so my hair looked quite snazzy!)
  • I pay $35/hour for re-tis. I get my hair done in Boston, MA. (Though interested, right now I’m not motivated to take the self re-tightening class.) It usually takes between 2-3 hours.
4 thoughts on “sharing is caring

  1. I wash my hair the day before my tightening. It is dry when I arrive but I curl it with lock loops the night before. I am in Florida and I pay twenty dollars an hour.

  2. Do you wash your hair before your sisterlock re-tightening or does your loctician washes your hair for you as a standard part of your appointment?

    >> My consultant used to wash my hair and retighten them for me. Now I wash it prior to my appointment now.

    Whether your hair is washed before or during your appointment, are your sisterlocks re-tightened on wet/damp or dry hair? Preference?

    >> It was a lot less painful when my retighten was done while my sisterlocks were wet but I found that doing it while dry is better. My locks don’t unravel in the back and it has a neater appearances.

    How much do you pay for your re-tightenings and where do you live? (since cost can vary by location) And, how long does it typically take?

    >> I live in Florida and my retighen is $20 hr. It takes anywhere between 4 1/2 to 5 hours to retighen my hair.

  3. Thanks for responding! Wow! I’m paying nearly twice as much in Boston, MA for retis than you ladies do in Florida.

    @Kreyola: I love the way it feels to get my hair retightened…It’s so soothing, lol. (But I also like the way it feels to get my eyebrows plucked (weird, I know) so I guess my idea of “soothing” really isn’t for normal folks at all, ha ha.

  4. Hello, do you still have sisterlocks? I have been interested in getting them but when I went to the sister lock website to look at getting them installed in Boston , 4 of the email addresses for the trainees came back to me as undeliverable. Is there anyone that you would recommend in Boston to go to get them installed?

POST A COMMENT

