Practice will make perfect.

I finally got around to washing my hair. It’s been two weeks since I got my hair washed, blowdried, and trimmed at the salon.

A week after that salon visit, I did successfully put about 6-7 flat twists in my head (on dry hair). It took me a very long time (about two hours) but I am proud that I was able to get them in.

I do believe having my hair blowdried straight made it easier to manage flat twisting, as the natural vs. relaxed textures were blended together a bit.  This time around… I ended up scrapping the flat twisting idea because I just couldn’t get into the groove and instead attempted cornrowing– something I have never been good at but somehow came to me a bit easier tonight.

I braided 4 large cornrows going back. And two cornrows in the front-middle, going side to side… idk what I was trying to do. But whatever. I got the cornrows in. I rolled the ends on satin-covered foam rollers.

It still took me forever to do those six braids. But… I shall not be discouraged. Practice makes perfect and I’ll get the hang of this sooner or later.

Before braiding my hair, I washed my hair with Organix Coconut Milk Shampoo (new– first experience with this), Deep Conditioned with ORS Replenishing Pak (just bought a couple of paks– oldie but goodie), used Hask Placenta with Olive Oil as a leave-in. I “blowdried” my hair… and I type blowdried in quotations because the goal wasn’t to get my hair straight. It was to simply dry my hair so I wouldn’t go to bed and wake up with wet hair. I just ran the blowdrier over my hair, in sections, without using a comb. I then applied some of my whipped shea butter mix and sealed with coconut oil. As I parted my hair to braid, I “greased” my scalp with Jane Carter Nourish & Shine and rubbed some on each section before braiding.

Next wash, I will use a heavier leave in or apply the whipped shea butter before blowdrying to ensure I don’t dry out my hair strands too much.

Overall, my hair didn’t shed/break much during the washing process. For sure, during my sorry attempt at braiding, I pulled out/broke off some of my hair but que sera, right? I just hope tomorrow’s braid out looks halfway decent for work. eek!

2 thoughts on “Practice will make perfect.

  1. As a former hairstylist, it took me the longest to learn how to braid. (You would think this would be something that they taught in beauty school, but I’m afraid not.)
    But once I got the hang of it, I could braid anything. Don’t give up, (even though your arms will ache), keep doing it and you’ll be surprised how fast you’ll be able to whip those braids up!

  2. Thanks for the encouragement! I’m going to keep trying to braid and twist. I will learn, LOL!

    BTW, I stopped by your website… your book, Unbeweavable, looks interesting! I’ll keep an eye out on it. =)

POST A COMMENT

