Practice will make perfect.

I finally got around to washing my hair. It’s been two weeks since I got my hair washed, blowdried, and trimmed at the salon.

A week after that salon visit, I did successfully put about 6-7 flat twists in my head (on dry hair). It took me a very long time (about two hours) but I am proud that I was able to get them in.

I do believe having my hair blowdried straight made it easier to manage flat twisting, as the natural vs. relaxed textures were blended together a bit.  This time around… I ended up scrapping the flat twisting idea because I just couldn’t get into the groove and instead attempted cornrowing– something I have never been good at but somehow came to me a bit easier tonight.

I braided 4 large cornrows going back. And two cornrows in the front-middle, going side to side… idk what I was trying to do. But whatever. I got the cornrows in. I rolled the ends on satin-covered foam rollers.

It still took me forever to do those six braids. But… I shall not be discouraged. Practice makes perfect and I’ll get the hang of this sooner or later.

Before braiding my hair, I washed my hair with Organix Coconut Milk Shampoo (new– first experience with this), Deep Conditioned with ORS Replenishing Pak (just bought a couple of paks– oldie but goodie), used Hask Placenta with Olive Oil as a leave-in. I “blowdried” my hair… and I type blowdried in quotations because the goal wasn’t to get my hair straight. It was to simply dry my hair so I wouldn’t go to bed and wake up with wet hair. I just ran the blowdrier over my hair, in sections, without using a comb. I then applied some of my whipped shea butter mix and sealed with coconut oil. As I parted my hair to braid, I “greased” my scalp with Jane Carter Nourish & Shine and rubbed some on each section before braiding.

Next wash, I will use a heavier leave in or apply the whipped shea butter before blowdrying to ensure I don’t dry out my hair strands too much.

Overall, my hair didn’t shed/break much during the washing process. For sure, during my sorry attempt at braiding, I pulled out/broke off some of my hair but que sera, right? I just hope tomorrow’s braid out looks halfway decent for work. eek!