I whipped Shea Butter.

I finally got around to making my own shea butter concoction.

I purchased raw shea butter before but never got around to whipping it. And, those familiar with raw shea butter know that it’s hard to apply until it melts in your hands a bit.

Not so with whipped shea butter.

Though I contemplating buying Aloe Vera Gel and other oils to add to the mix, I decided I would only use:

  • 1 cup shea butter (purchased November 2008… shea butter has a shelf life of 12-24 months so I’m going to assume it’s still good!)
  • 4 tbsp coconut oil (recently replaced emptying bottle)
  • 50 drops grape seed oil (found a tube laying around)
  • 3/4 tbsp honey

Finally, I followed About.com: Black Hair – How to Whip Shea Butter. Well, I sorta followed the recipe. In addition to adding grape seed oil and honey into the mix, I ended up mixing, freexing, mixing, freezing, mixing, freezing, mixing… until I got the desired texture.

And wah-la! Whipped Shea Butter!

Here are my results:

This recipe made enough whipped shea butter to almost fill a 15.5 oz salsa jar. (Recycle and Reuse, right?!)

4 thoughts on “I whipped Shea Butter.

  1. Pingback: i love my friggin’ whipped shea butter! « Love, Peace, & Hair Grease

  2. Pingback: Practice will make perfect. « Love, Peace, & Hair Grease

  3. Pingback: I whipped shea butter… again! « Love, Peace, & Hair Grease

  4. Pingback: 2010 in Review « Love, Peace, & Hair Grease

POST A COMMENT

