Kinky Twist Takedown… The Plan

As much as I was looking forward to following a new regimen when I take down my twists, I have another plan. I’m taking down my hair on Friday night, detangling my dirty hair and separating it into 4 sections. And then Saturday morning, I am off to a new hair salon for a wash, blowdry, trim and treatment.

It took a few phone calls but I am excited about the salon I will be visiting on Saturday. I called the salon I went to back when my hair was relaxed… but since my stylist isn’t there anymore and the stylist I wanted is unavailable, I wasn’t so sure about letting someone else do my “transitioning” hair. Didn’t think they would understand…

And then I found two other salons online… one does natural hair but more specifically locks, the other got great reviews on Yelp but when I called the lady just couldn’t understand that I wanted her to trim my relaxed ends… not big chop. She understood “relaxed” and she understood “natural.” She just couldn’t understand “transitioning.”

Anyways, finally I came across Simple Erin (via Yelp as well). Many of the reviewers on yelp mentioned having natural and/or transitioning hair and enjoying the service.

Sure enough, I called up and had a pleasant conversation with the woman on the phone. She asked questions to diagnose the exact type of service I wanted. I told her I have my hair in kinky twists… she asked for how long? How long is my hair (new growth+relaxed ends)? When was my last trim? Would I be interested in a treatment if I need one (key word: need one)? When do I plan on getting kinky twists again? What style?

And she didn’t balk when I said I only wanted a blowdry… not a press & curl. I explained I wanted to give myself options to flat twist it if I so desired a few days later. Can’t do that on a press & curl.

Anyways, turns out that salon is a salon owned by a friend’s family member. Stumbled upon it without even knowing. I am glad I will have a good customer service report rather than a “girl, why your fam’s salon so ghetto?” (lol).

Anyhoo, crossing my fingers for a successful in person visit on Saturday!

Edited to Add (2/15/2010)

I posted a video of how crazy my hair looked right after I took down the twists until after my hair appointment.

The appointment… was a near disaster. I thought my appointment was at 11:30am but my friend called to tell me it was actually 11am. I get there by 11:15am just to wait until 12:45pm for someone to start washing my hair!

The owner of the salon (Erin) is super-duper nice. She came over and introduced herself to me; we chatted for a bit. But my stylist never introduced herself at all. I was cranky because I stayed up until 5:30am taking down my twists and barely got any sleep.

Finally, E’s assistant washed, deep conditioned, and blowdried my hair. E did a bit more than a trim (by my request, of course). The whole time she chatted with me about her transition to natural 5-6 years ago. She said she thought I had a nice face to rock a TWA but was not pressuring me in any way to cut my hair now. I told her we’ll see how I manage these two natural textures over the next coming months.

She also commented about my thin edges. I explained that I actually thought they were filling in more and that it was not the twists that have been pulling on them. I hope, hope, hope they grow back in! I need to take a status pic of my edges…….

The one thing that E made that I’m not sure was truly accurate is that there is still color in my hair. The middle of my hair is a brownish color, while the roots and end of the hair shaft is a dark black. It can’t be the highlights from over 3 (maybe four?) years ago because the ends of my hair would’ve been brown… not the middle. I’m pretty certain it was the relaxer that was used in my hair that has stripped it of its color.

Anyhoo, all in all… I will go back there again (in another 3-4 months). But I will make sure to choose the earliest time possible so Miss J doesn’t have me waiting. (E doesn’t typically do natural hair styles so I don’t think I can request her in the future.)

Here’s a quick video I did (in lieu of a status pictures) post kinky twist takedown.

One thought on “Kinky Twist Takedown… The Plan

  1. Pingback: Rebuilding my regimen « Love, Peace, & Hair Grease

POST A COMMENT

