Showcasing my kinky twists. (About time.)

On December 26, 2009, a friend of mine kinky twisted my hair. It was her first time and so it took about 9 hours to complete. I asked for pencil-sized twists because I didn’t want to put crazy amounts of stress on my hair.

Although I was very much looking forward to the twists, I was afraid that I wouldn’t like them, just as I did not like the braids. But I was happily surprised by the results!

The twists did not come out exactly how they did when I had my hair twisted over 4 years ago. I think they looked better! More natural.

I used Puffy Screw (short length) in 1B color. Along my hair line, it looks like I chose a multicolored pack… my relaxed ends make the twists look like they have highlights.

Anyhoo, I’ve had the twists in for about a month and the front was beginning to look really fuzzy. Yesterday, I took the front half out, wash, conditioned and my friend re-kinky twisted the front… viola! Like new!

Kinky Twist Plan
I plan to keep the twists for another 3-4 weeks, let my hair rest for a few days, and then ask my friend to retwist them again. An unofficial kinky twist challenge I suppose!

Kinky Twist Regimen
My regimen is simply… spray my strands morning and evening with Motions Marula Oil and cover with a satin bonnet when I sleep.

That’s it.

I can attest that kinky twist has NOT dried out my hair. When I took down the front yesterday, there was quite a bit of shed hair, but not more than to be expected from not combing my hair for weeks. Using Hask Plancenta as a leave-in seemed to halt some of that shedding after the wash.

The only other thing worth mentioning is Shea Butter (all natural). I asked my friend to coat each section with shea butter before twisting.

Kinky Twist Video
Idk where my camera cord is, so I finally thought– aha! how about a video? Below is a video that I took today. As you can see, the front looks very neat. I tried also to show the back of my hair (because it was not redone) where the twists may be a bit fuzzy, the parts less defined.

(Please ignore the pimple between my eyebrows that won’t go away!)

POST A COMMENT

